Plush Apocalypse

1 05 2007

I always like to have a new blog or two in my dailies, and right now I’m enjoying The Plush Apocalypse.

There’s a review of S.T.A.L.K.E.R. up there, and it points out a glaring hole which has consistently appeared in most others:

Pretty much every review I’ve read about S.T.A.L.K.E.R. goes something like this: “There are so many terrible things about this game, bugs, bad framerate, choppy animations, problems on Vista, unpolished, blah blah blah. But you should still play it because it’s cool and has a lot of ambience.”

These reviews say more about the crappy state of game criticism than the game itself, really. They simply fail to describe what makes the game compelling. My other complaint about most of the reviews of this game is that they don’t mention the Tarkovsky movie or the book by the Strugatsky’s.

He goes on to plug both of those gaps rather well; it’s worth reading.

Actions

Information




